What is the name of the caterpillar in alice in wonderland?

Absalom the Caterpillar The Caterpillar (also known as the Hookah-Smoking Caterpillar) is a fictional character appearing in Lewis Carroll's 1865 book Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.