How do you repair an anvil in minecraft?

It's not possible to repair an anvil, so you'll need to keep the Minecraft anvil recipe to hand. An anvil can also be damaged and destroyed from falling, if an air block is below an anvil, it becomes a falling anvil and damages any player or mob it falls onto