Who invented the word bra?

The word bra is short for the word brazier, which I am told was invented by a man. In the French language “Le bra” means “the arm” and in French class usually gets a laugh from the young boys.

---

The term brassiere, from French brassière, was used by the Evening Herald in Syracuse, New York, in 1893. It gained wider acceptance in 1904 when the DeBevoise Company used it in their advertising copy—although the word is actually French for a child's undershirt.