What are the different types of gypsies?

The term 'Gypsies and Travellers' is difficult to define as it does not constitute a single group, but encompasses a range of groups with different histories, cultures and beliefs including: Romany Gypsies, Welsh Gypsies, Scottish Gypsy Travellers and Irish Travellers.