How do you remove lactose from milk?

The traditional method of eliminating lactose in milk involves adding lactase or beta-galactosidase enzyme to the milk. These enzymes hydrolyse the lactose into its constituent sugars: galactose and glucose. These sugars are sweeter in taste than lactose and give the milk an unsatisfactory flavour.