How do you store half of an onion?

According to Cooks Illustrated and that devilishly clever chef, the Galloping Gourmet, tinfoil and the fridge are the answers to your prayers. Not only does tinfoil preserve the (whole or partial) onion but also prevents the odor from contaminating other food. But why not just eat the whole onion?

---

Place it in a glass container.