How does the moon travel?

The Moon orbits around the Earth. The earth orbits around the sun, and the sun orbits around the galactic core. The sun drags the rest of the solar system around the galaxy. The sun and our solar system take around 225 to 250 million years to make one round trip around the Milky Way galaxy.