Why is there a shortage of semiconductors?

The manufacturing process for semi-conductors requires extreme precision, levels of sterility that are very difficult to maintain and very very expensive equipment. The processes are highly specialized and there are only a few facilities on the planet that can produce high quality semi-conductors.