When did the washington nationals come into existence?

The Washington Nationals baseball team came into existence in 2005. They originally were the Montreal Expos, founded in 1969. When the Expos franchise failed, Major League Baseball bought the Expos franchise, and moved it to Washington D.C., where they compete in the National League East Division.