What do you do if you encounter a brown bear?

For both Brown and Grizzly Bears: If you are attacked by a brown or grizzly bear, leave your pack on and PLAY DEAD. Lay flat on your stomach with your hands clasped behind your neck. Spread your legs to make it hard to turn you over. Remain still until the bear leaves the area. Do not attempt to run.