What percentage of the world's population has green eyes?

An estimated 2% of the world's population have green eyes, making them very rare overall. However green eyes are very common in some parts of the world, including Ireland and Scotland. In the U.S., where many people descend from ancestors from Ireland and Scotland, about 9% of people have green eyes