When were the mills brothers popular?

The Mills Brothers had their biggest hit in 1943 with “Paper Doll,” which sold more than six million records also a best seller as sheet music. In the mid-1940s they dropped the instrumental imitations and became a more conventional vocal group, backed by a regular rhythm section or orchestra.