How big do you have to be to ride in the front seat of a car?

States that use height as a requirement for sitting in the front seat most often specify 4 feet, 9 inches, as the minimum suggested front-seat height. No child under the age of 13 should sit in the front seat, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

---

The law for when a kid can ride in front varies by state. Many states don't have a size specification, but go by age, saying a child has to be 12 or 13 before they can ride up front. When size is specified, its usually around a minimum of 100 pounds weight, and-or 65" in height.