Why does honey pasteurize?

Honey is pasteurized to help it last longer. Pasteurization slows down the granulation process that naturally occurs in honey so that it remains in a liquid state for a greater amount of time. Pasteurization also destroys any yeast cells in the honey, which removes any chance of fermentation.