Does coffee cake have coffee in it?

While some early versions of coffee cake did contain coffee, the snack cake is meant to be an accompaniment to, not a cakeful of coffee. Most have simple cinnamon fillings, with some variations using chocolate, nuts, fruit, and cream cheese to complement the delicate flavor of the cake.