What is a beta blocker?

According to the Mayo Clinic, beta blockers are medications that reduce blood pressure by blocking the effects of the hormone epinephrine (adrenaline). They cause the heart to beat more slowly and with less force and they help widen veins and arteries to improve blood flow.