What's the difference between white vinegar and malt vinegar?

White vinegar is made by fermenting acetic acid in water. It is colourless, simple, and easy and inexpensive to make. Malt vinegar is sweeter, milder on the palate, and less acidic than white vinegar. Brewed from fermented barley, it has a more complex, nutty flavour and a warm caramel colour.