What state is n. l.?

NL is not in the United States; that's the two-letter postal abbreviation for the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

---

There is no U.S. state with the abbreviation NL. In Canada, the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador is abbreviated as NL. The Netherlands is a country that also uses the abbreviation NL.