What is alicization?

In the game Sword Art Online, Alicization is a top-secret government project run by Rath to create the first Highly Adaptive Artificial Intelligence. The name Alicization is from the acronym A.L.I.C.E (Artificial Labile Intelligent Cybernated Existence, or a highly adaptive artificial intelligence)