What is the life cycle of a squid?

Most squid complete their life cycle — from tiny planktonic juveniles to mature adults — in approximately one or two years. In warty squid reproduction, the female produces a huge ovary the size of a football. This process breaks down all muscle from her body wall. After spawning, they die.