How many sharks are there in the ocean?

The oceans are so vast that it's nearly impossible to quantify the number of sharks in the ocean. However, according to the Smithsonian Institute, scientists are developing a method of analyzing sea water and detecting the presence of sharks DNA in the water. One day we may finally get the count.