Why is boston lettuce called boston lettuce?

Boston Bibb lettuce is named for its original cultivator, John Bibb. In 1865 he grew his special lettuce in Kentucky's alkaline soil. This variety, would become the first American gourmet lettuce. Hydroponic Boston Lettuce is grown utilizing a super climate controlled greenhouse environment.