How many hours does it take to run a marathon?

Across the board, most people finish a marathon in 4 to 5 hours, with an average mile time of 9 to 11.5 minutes. A finishing time that's under 4 hours is a real accomplishment for everyone other than elite runners, who can finish in around 2 hours.