Why do mushrooms grow in circles?

Groups of mushrooms that grow in circles are called fairy rings. The mycelium uses up all of the nutrients in the soil, starving the grass. Umbrella-shaped fruiting bodies, called mushrooms, spring up from just behind the outer edge of the mycelium.