How does carbon monoxide kill you?

Carbon monoxide poisoning is when too much carbon monoxide builds up in your bloodstream. When there is too much carbon monoxide in the air, your body replaces your oxygen in your red blood cells with it. This can cause serious tissue damage, organ damage and death.