Why are the n. b. a. players wearing number six?

The No. 6 patch on NBA jerseys this season is a nod to Bill Russell’s legacy on the court. The Boston Celtics legend amassed 11 NBA titles, five MVPs, 12 All-Star appearances and countless other accolades while wearing the No. 6 on his back from 1956-1969.