How much does eight ounces of water weigh?

Eight fluid ounces of water is equal to one cup - which is approximately 250 ml. That amount of water weighs 250 grams, or just over 8.8 ounces (about 0.55 of a pound). The English language is confusing in this regard, because it uses the same word ("ounce") for both fluid volume and mass.