How do you find a needle in a haystack?

If the needle is metallic, a magnet may help. You could wait for the hay to decompose- but that would take a long time. You could also thread the needle before it goes into the haystack so that you can follow the thread to find the needle, or burn the hay and find the needle in the ashes.