Who's the chess champion of the world?

The current world champion is Magnus Carlsen of Norway. The first event generally recognized as a world championship was the 1886 match between the two leading players in the world, Wilhelm Steinitz and Johannes Zukertort. Steinitz won, becoming the first world champion.