What do you do when you get stung by a wasp?

If stung by a wasp, wash the affected area with warm soap and water. Cleaning the site can remove any bacteria or venom the wasp might have carried. Apply an ice pack to the sting site for 30 to 60 minutes, in intervals of 10 minutes on and off. To reduce the swelling, take an anti-inflammatory.