Is a dog's mouth clean?

No, a dog's mouth is not any cleaner than a humans mouth. It can actually be quite dirty depending on what the dog has been chewing or eating. One reason myths around the cleanliness of a dog’s mouth may exist is because there are very few illnesses that can be transmitted between dogs and humans.