What's the difference between a thong and a g-string?

a thong resembles a bikini bottom but there is less material making the hips more visible. Another difference is that thongs are specially designed to hide sensitive areas and genital hair but show parts of the buttocks, while G strings are for the sole purpose of making people look pretty.