Where are betta fish found?

Beta fish are imported from the future where they are genetically created by Data from the Starship Enterprise, he named the fish Beta in an attempt to program humor into his AI algorithm. He crossed a sub species of general southern aquatic goldfish from Earth with the same from the planet Vulcan.