How much does a baby horse weigh?

No matter the breed, foals weigh approximately 10 percent of their mother's weight at birth. That means the typical 1,000 pound thoroughbred mare gives birth to a 100 pound foal, the 1,500 pound warmblood mare's foal is about 150 pounds, and the 2,000 pound draft mare's offspring weighs 200 pounds.