Can i store onions and potatoes together?

I wouldn't recommend it. Potatoes tend to absorb smells. Storing potatoes & onions together in the same container would make the potatoes taste like onions. It's not a good idea to store two different food items together unless they are both wrapped in plastic bags to prevent cross contamination.