Why are chihuahuas so small?

The Chihuahua, recognized as a breed in 1904, is traced back to the Te-chi-chi breed. It is said that the Toltec people of Mexico continued to breed the smallest of the Te-chi-chi, to continue diminishing the size of dogs in new litters. Chihuahuas are descendants of the Te-chi-chi.