How are peppercorns made?

Peppercorns are actually a tiny fruit, the drupe of a flowering vine known as piper nigrum, grown in tropical regions, native to the Indian subcontinent and in Southeast Asia. Some of the best peppercorns in the world come from the Malabar coast in the Indian state of Kerala.