When does the third trimester start in pregnancy?

According to "what to expect", the third trimester begins around week 28 of pregnancy and lasts until you give birth, which may be around week 40 of pregnancy. In other words, your third trimester lasts from months 7 to 9 of pregnancy. In total, the third trimester is about 13 weeks long.