How do you play charlie charlie?

"Charlie Charlie" is played by placing a pencil on a paper and balancing another pencil on top of it, making a cross. Write 'yes' on 2 corners of the paper between the pencils and 'no' on the other 2 corners. Ask a question and wait for a spirit to move the pencil to yes or no. Might not work.