Is a short vowel or a long vowel?

A is both a long and short vowel. If there is one vowel, and it appears in the middle of the word, the vowel is usually pronounced as a short vowel. Especially true if the word is very short. If it appears with another vowel next to it or in a vowel-consant-vowel, the A would be a long vowel.