How many spiders do you eat in a year?

While it is plausible that sleeping humans may swallow the odd spider, experts who study these eight-legged arthropods say doing so is random and rare. Furthermore, the oft quoted idea that that average person swallows eight spiders in their sleep each year is just a myth and is simply not true.