What's a substitute for vanilla in baking?

Maple syrup: Replace the vanilla extract with an equal amount of maple syrup or pancake syrup. Any changes in flavor will be subtle. Almond extract: Swap out the vanilla with half as much almond extract. Almond has a stronger flavor so less is required.