Can you over fertilize a plant?

Over fertilization can actually decrease growth and leave plants weak and vulnerable to pests and diseases. It can also lead to the ultimate demise of the plant. Signs of over-fertilization include stunted growth, burned or dried leaf margins, wilting, and collapse or death of plants.