What happens if you take your helmet off in space?

Without a helmet, and your own Earth-like atmosphere surrounding you, you'll be exposed to the vacuum of space. Within a moment, all the air will rush out of your lungs, and then you'll fall unconscious in about 45 seconds. Starved for oxygen, you'll die of suffocation in just a couple of minutes.