Where does wind come from?

Wind is created by air masses moving from a high pressure region to a low pressure region. Additionally, air masses will rotate in the northern hemisphere counter clockwise around a low pressure cell, and clockwise around a high-pressure cell. The greater the pressure delta the faster the wind.