Who recorded summertime?

Abbie Mitchell first performed Summertime in 1935. There are more than 25000 recordings of the song. Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong recorded the song in 1957, Miles Davis in 1959 and Janis Joplin 1969. The first singer to have a hit with the song was Billie Holiday in 1936.