What does c. d. s. mean?

A credit default swap (CDS) is a financial derivative that allows an investor to swap or offset their credit risk with that of another investor. To swap the risk of default, the lender buys a CDS from another investor who agrees to reimburse them if the borrower defaults. -Investopedia

---

Credit Default Swap A credit default swap (CDS) is a particular type of swap designed to transfer the credit exposure of fixed income products between two or more parties.