How long do you boil an egg?

Place eggs to be boiled in a pan. Add water covering the eggs completely. Bring the water to a rolling boil, place a lid on the pan, and remove it from the heat. For a soft boiled egg, remove eggs 4 minutes after removing from heat. For medium, remove after 8, and for a hard boiled egg, 12 minutes.