What is safir?

SAFIR (or Single Aperture Far-InfraRed) is a proposed NASA space observatory for far-infrared light. The plan calls for a single large mirror 5–10 meters (16–33 ft) in diameter, cryogenically cooled to 5 kelvins (−268 °C; −451 °F).