What is a fulbright scholar?

Fulbright "scholars" are participants in the Fulbright Scholar Program, which enables college and university faculty members with a PhD. (or equivalent terminal degree) to teach and / or conduct research. The Fulbright Scholar Program is also open to artists and professionals.